The Quickest Dish of Spaghetti in a Rich and Creamy Avocado Pesto

The other day, I was packing for my trip. My plane was due in a few hours and I needed to get some lunch, as well as figure out how to fit in all the stuff scattered all over the place into my steadily shrinking suitcase. I had some left-over plain cooked spaghetti in the fridge and a ripe avocado in the fruit bowl. I heated up the noodles and squeezed some lemon and salt and pepper over the avocado and voilá! Instant pesto with spaghetti! Quick, delicious and healthy. And yes also vegan because I don’t like the taste of cheese in my avocado.

So here is the recipe although it does not really need one.

RECIPE: Instant Avocado Pesto with Spaghetti

2 portions of spaghetti, thinner pasta is also good (use gluten-free pasta if needed)

1 large avocado

1 lemon

Optional:

Garlic 1 clove finely chopped

Chilli flakes or finely chopped green chillies to taste

Chopped parsley or coriander to taste

Chopped tomatoes to taste

Process:

Cook spaghetti as per package instructions in plenty of salted water until al dente. Cut and mash avocado in a large mixing bowl. Squeeze lemon to taste and plenty of salt and freshly ground black pepper. I stopped right here because I like my avocado as unadulterated as possible. But go ahead if you wish and add the optional ingredients to spice things up. Mix well and toss the pasta in the pesto. Enjoy the rich and creamy sauce coated noodles and say yummm!

 

 

 

 

Share your thoughts below

