red lentil garlic radish greens

Garlicky Lentils With Radish Greens

Like I mentioned here, I am a big believer of using up the tops of vegetables. They are delicious and healthy, so why not?!

This is an easy recipe, all you need to do is tear off the leaves from your radish tops. Where I come from, radish tops are also stir-fried to make a simple but tasty first course.The stalks can be eaten too but they need more specialized cooking and a more zesty set of spices to dress them up.
Apologies, people! I think I have confused you because I confused myself. I mixed up two recipes. I had also cooked kohlrabi greens another day and the stalks of those need to be cooked separately, folks. So I wrote the stalk instructions for kohlrabi. Oops!

Let me clarify, radish stalks are very tender usually. So no need to tear off leaves from stalks!

The greens can be easily paired with red lentils and garlic to give this tasty and filling dish for eating as a soup or with some grain or bread.

This dish is also a great vehicle for using up those greens that have been sitting around in the refrigerator for a bit too long!

RECIPE: Garlicky Masoor Dal With Radish Greens

1 cup of red lentils

5 cups of water

2 cups of of radish tops washed and cleaned, or any other greens of your choice, if the stalks feel fibrous leave them out

3-5 cloves of garlic roughly chopped

1 tsp oil

1 tsp of salt

Optional dried red chilli

Process – 

  1. Wash the lentils three times in water.
  2. Roughly chop your greens, just bundle them up and run the knife through them a few times.
  3. Heat oil in  large pot. Add your optional red chilli.
  4. Add the garlic and move around for a few seconds, don’t brown them.
  5. Add the lentils, water and the greens.
  6. Bring to a boil and then lower heat, so that everything simmers at a steady pace.
  7. When the lentils are falling apart, add salt.
  8. You can puree the lentils and greens with a hand-held mixer, or you can leave it as is, for a more rustic dish.
  9. Check the level of water and to make it thinner, add hot water. Adjust salt. 

 

