Spaghetti With a Spring In Its Step

This is a beautiful and delicious bowl of pasta that I whipped up last Sunday and it took me no time at all! I used fresh summer melons that are flooding the market slowly – green and yellow zucchini, plus cherry tomatoes, carrots, parsley. Some ground meat goes in the pan first, followed by sliced onions and the vegetables. A dollop of tomato paste, salt and pepper to round off the flavours and you are in business. It’s light and fresh tasting, with the tomato adding just the right amount of acidity without being too heavy.  You can omit the meat and substitute with some anchovies or a handful of shrimp. Or go vegetarian altogether. Sometimes, it is nice to eat a simple dish that lets all the ingredients shine through.

Recipe for Spring Spaghetti

Ingredients

Spaghetti for two, cooked as per package instructions till al dente

Diced yellow and green zucchini 1/2 cup each

Handful cherry tomatoes halved

200 gms ground meat

1 onion sliced

Handful of parsley

1 tsp tomato paste

1 tsp oil

Salt and pepper

Quarter cup pasta cooking water

Process:

  1. Heat oil and brown meat. Season with salt
  2. Add all veggies and sauté.
  3. When almost done to your liking (I like my veg to retain their colour and bite), add tomato paste, salt and pepper
  4. Add quarter cup of the pasta cooking water and simmer for one minute.
  5. Stir in pasta and parsley.

My son said it was “a million times good”. I wasn’t hungry for dinner at all, but I tasted a forkful and then finished an entire plateful heh heh! Hope you like it too.

 

