Peacock Indian National Bird Wildpark Poing Munich

I’m a Stranger Here Myself

The national bird of India right here in the heart of Bavaria, Germany, hanging around nonchalantly outdoors on a cold spring day.

They have been a part of my life since I was a child. I remember a time when we used to live next to the zoo in Calcutta Kolkata. One of my favourite things to see was a peacock spreading out its magnificent tail and doing his mating dance, just before a rain shower. Those days, I did not know that it was a mating dance. I used to think that he was just happy to see the rain clouds. Who wouldn’t be, after a hot day?

Now decades later, they have come back in my life. Every year we go to the Poing Wildpark, we see these wonderful birds strolling around or sitting quietly on a rooftop or fence. They look like they have lived here all their lives. And I think, if they can adapt so well, so can I.

