Chinese fried rice meat

The Minimalist Fried Rice

What do I do when I have a whole tub of leftover jasmine rice sitting around in my fridge? Make fried rice, the minimalist way of course! While I prefer my fried rice with lots of vegetables and no meat, the little guy and the big guy like theirs with lots of meat. Since I was not planning on eating dinner this evening or at least not a proper one, I decided it would be OK to do it their way. I did taste it and it was really good. The men shovelled the fried rice breathlessly into their mouths and fought over who should get to eat more. A success in my book!

Recipe: Minimalist Fried Rice

Ingredients:

4-5 cups of cooked rice, well chilled

500 gms of ground meat (any meat is fine, I used pork. But bear in mind that a “gamey” meat like lamb will probably need some garlic action)

1 heaped cup of chopped scallions/spring onions

2 tbsp chopped ginger

3 tbsp soya sauce

1/2 tsp sambal oelek or hot chilli sauce (optional, more if you like it spicy!)

A handful of chopped parsley

1-2 tbsp oil

Process: In a large, non-stick fry pan or a wok if you prefer, heat oil on medium hight heat until very hot and add the ginger. Stir-fry briskly for a few seconds and add the scallions. Stir-fry for a minute or two and add the meat. Stir-fry for a couple of minutes and add 2 tbsp of soya sauce. Mix well and stir fry until the meat is browned. Add the sambal oelek, the rice, and mix gently. Taste and add more soya sauce if needed. Now for the next few minutes, let the rice sizzle on the stove-top. Occassionally turn over the rice to gently mix it with the meat. You should hear a lot of sizzling and popping, which means that the rice is getting brown and crispy in parts. That will make for great eats so let it happen as long as you can hold yourself. Then turn over the rice from the bottom to let more unfried rice to come in contact with the bottom of the pan. After you have done enough of this in your opinion, turn off the heat and proceed directly to the dining table.

Even though I did not put much vegetables in the fried rice, I compensated by serving lots of fresh carrot, red bell-pepper and celery sticks to munch along.

 

 

 

