Weekend Menu -2

This weekend, I had a retired old couple over for dinner. They are family friends of my in-laws from a time when my husband was still crawling around in his diapers.

They have been to India a couple of times and think highly of Indian food. So you would agree, the perfect guinea pigs for my cooking experiments. OK, to be honest, I didn’t try any strange experiments on them. I cooked up some classics from my mom’s kitchen, as I remembered them from my childhood. Wait, there was one experiment as you will see.

A Traditional Bengali Menu – A mix of old and new

First Course – Hot and fluffy basmati rice infused with Pulao Ghee, served with fish croquettes and salad

Second Course – Aubergine/Eggplant braised in a spicy cumin and ginger sauce

Third course – Slow-cooked pork in a yogurt-garam masala sauce (that was the experiment my dears. Instead of pork my mother would have used fish).

Dessert – Mango Shrikhand  or mango and yogurt cream infused with saffron and cardamom.

Drooling yet? Recipes to follow on this blog, all minimalist I promise. Stay tuned!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Weekend Menu -2

Comments are closed.