ghee ginger cardamom cinnamon cashewnut

Aromatherapy – Pulao Ghee

If wishes were cameras, I would want one that could capture the aroma of ghee that has been infused with ginger, cardamom and cinnamon.

Unfortunately, such a thing does not exist, yet. So you will have to make some of your own. Then you won’t need the sun to shine, or the birds to sing to feel happy.

If you like the aroma of ghee, then Pulao Ghee or Pulao-er Ghee as we call it in Bengali, will surely send you into ecstasies. It is the easiest way to make Pulao really. You infuse the ghee with spices first. Then mix it with rice as per your taste and voila! Instant Pulao. I remember my mother making it in my childhood for special occasions, to make someone feel special. I remember how wonderful the house smelt that day and everything looked different.

Any time you need to pamper yourself, take a spoonful and mix it into your favourite grain or favourite savoury porridge (wink, wink) and feel loved!

Recipe: Pulao er Ghee

Ghee 4 tbsp or as much as you want

Ginger 1 tsp finely chopped

6 cardamom pods

A small stick of cinnamon

1 tbsp chopped cashewnuts (optional)

Process – crack open the cardamom pods. Heat the ghee in a saucepan. Add the cardamom, cinnamon and cashewnuts if using. Let them toast in the ghee until you can smell the magic. Remove from heat and do what you will. I mixed it with basmati rice for some instant pulao on Saturday. The rest I kept in the fridge and will use up in the next couple of days. I think it will keep for a week.

My mother also added a small bayleaf but I don’t. She also added sugar and salt, but I prefer to keep that under my control at the dinner-table. Oh and she also added raisins. But I have some family members who don’t like raisins in their food. But my pared-down ghee tastes out of the world, nonetheless.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Aromatherapy – Pulao Ghee

Comments are closed.